Guest Blogger: Moody May

15ydf39rivc-carli-jeen

Hi everyone and Happy New Year.

In my last post, I asked for fellow bloggers to write a guest post for Silent D And Me. I received a response from May of Moody May. I apologise May, for the delay in publishing your post. Thank you for sharing your experiences with myself and my readers.

I’ll hand you over to May. Please go over to her blog and send her some love.

Hey there. My name is May, and I am a 25 years-old female who currently resides in California, U.S.A. I am a call center agent during the week and an artist on the weekends. I have had a very nice life (by “normal” standards), but I have been struggling with mental illnesses since I was a child.

I have been diagnosed with and am treating for Bipolar Disorder, Generalized Anxiety Disorder, Panic Disorder, Attention Deficit Disorder, and Agoraphobia. I take a variety of medications for those illnesses, which has stabilized me (for the most part). Without the medications I am utterly dysfunctional (such as the time I voluntarily checked myself into a psychiatric hospital).  

According to the National Institute of Mental Healthdepression affects 18% of the population in the United States alone, so I’m sure many can relate to this post.  

So, how do I, personally, cope with the effects of these mental illnesses? I am currently treating with a psychiatrist and take psychiatric medications prescribed by said psychiatrist, I use lavender essential oil or Nag Champa incense to calm myself, practice breathing techniques, meditate (when I am able), and sometimes just force myself to do something.  

I am interested to know what helps YOU. Please comment below what helps you deal with any psychiatric conditions you may have! 

Photo by Carli Jeen, courtesy of Unsplash

2 thoughts on “Guest Blogger: Moody May

  1. TheWorryGames says:

    Hi May! First and foremost I practice self care. Affirmations, relaxation exercises, deep breathing..I am Stuart Smalley in feminine form. Minus the inner rage, I think. lol And I use chamomile tea and essential oil diffusers and pens as well. Great to read all about you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

