So, I Wrote A Piece For Dropping Keys….

 

A couple of months ago, I submitted a piece of writing to Dropping Keys. I didn’t hear anything from them, so I assumed they weren’t interested and forgot about it.

Last night, I came home from work to an email from an editor at Dropping Keys, informing me that my piece had been published. Yay! I excitedly opened the site up on my browser, and found my submission.

Seeing my name on a published article, gave me goosebumps. I wonder if published authors ever get used to seeing their names in print? Feeling a little giddy, I scrolled down to read my work (I’d forgotten the exact words I’d written) and my excitement fizzled out. It has to be one of the worst pieces I’ve ever written. I’m very disappointed with myself.

Deflated, I sought two separate, albeit subjective opinions. I showed the article to my husband, who read it and made all the usual encouraging sounds. That’s what I love about him: I could write two words on a sheet of paper and smear dog poo on it, and he’d still think it was Man Booker Prize worthy.  

I sent a link to my Sister, who responded with “good job Sis! A nice simple piece, that gets the point across.” Now my Sister is a little less convinced that I’m the next Charlotte Bronte. Don’t get me wrong, she thinks I’m a capable writer and she encourages me; but she’s also brutally honest.

If I’m unsure of a blog post, I send her a copy to proofread. She then gives me some feedback – cut that out…keep that in…elaborate on this….rethink that. So to have her say that the article is good after just one read, is a rare moment. But I’m still not happy with it.

I feel that I rushed it a bit. The result being, that the pace of my article is quite fast and scatty. That’s what I think, anyway.

I spoke to some of the lovely members of a Facebook  writing group, I’m a member of and the general consensus is, that my feelings of disappointment aren’t uncommon. They all feel that same way, whenever they read an article they’ve published. They gave me some great advice, and put my mind at rest. If any of you are reading this, thank you.

If you want to read the article, here’s a link: When Depression Came To Stay

If you do read it, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

 

2 thoughts on “So, I Wrote A Piece For Dropping Keys….

Leave a Reply

